• 全商品
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • 俳優
  • スタジオ
  • タイトル
  • Music
  • アルバム
  • アーティスト
  • アーティスト(アナログ盤のみ)
  • レーベル会社
  • Classical
  • アルバム
  • 人名
  • ワーク
  • Video Games
  • スタジオ
  • タイトル
  • Accessories
  • Apparel
  • Collectibles
  • Authors


In Stock









Anywhere the Wind Blows

Anywhere the Wind Blows

  • レーベル検索 Good Ol' Persons
  • リリース 2014/12/01
  • ミュージックジャンル Country
  • フォーマット CD
Share Twitter
価格: ¥1,448


'Intelligent, varied, and beautifully performed acoustic music [with] the emotional intensity that is the greatest strength of bluegrass as a genre." - Bluegrass Unlimited review of Anywhere the Wind Blows The final Good Ol' Persons studio album, with Kevin Wimmer taking over for Paul Shelasky on fiddle, and their most eclectic. Kathy contributes five originals, including 'Wildflowers,' 'Think About Me,' and the title track, and the record also contains their often-covered version of "Waterbound," two notable John tunes ("The Danny J" and "Hampsters In the Pantry"), and covers of Ernest Tubb, Carol McComb, and Pedro Padilla.Original release: 1989 (Kaleidoscope Records); CD reissue: 1995 (Flat Rock Records). 'When it comes to bluegrass, it doesn't get much better than this.' - Relix Magazine overview of the Good Ol' Persons The Good Ol' Persons were formed in 1975 as a result of the success of five women performing at a Freight & Salvage (Berkeley, CA) open mic. The name filled a spur-of-the-moment need and provided a wry comment on the dominant bluegrass culture of the era. It didn't take long for a band to form, for men to infiltrate -- and for the music to become more important than a gimmicky name. The Good Ol' Persons were among the first bluegrass bands to feature the songwriting, lead playing, and vocal harmonies of women, and went on to be trendsetters in the incorporation of Latin, swing, folk, Cajun, and other musical genres into their bluegrass. The band released several albums, toured throughout the US (including Bill Monroe's Beanblossom Festival) and Europe, and had a profound influence on several generations of bluegrassers. Since the band's demise in 1995, it's members have continued to enjoy successful musical careers (as well as occasional GOP reunions). Kathy, Sally, and John are Grammy and IBMA award winners, Kathy and Paul were awarded Lifetime Memberships by the California Bluegrass Association, and all are outstanding performers, composers, producers, bandleaders, and teachers. 'Kallick is simply a great lead singer, with a voice that vividly expresses with power and clarity whatever emotions a lyric was meant to convey. [She also] displays her knack for writing burning bluegrass songs in a classic mode." - Bluegrass Unlimited review of "Good N' Live' Kathy Kallick (guitar, vocals) leads The Kathy Kallick Band, has released numerous albums (always placing highly in the national bluegrass charts) filled with her extraordinary compositions, and continues to tour widely. John Reischman (mandolin, vocals) also leads a band (The Jaybirds), also has released numerous recordings featuring his remarkable tunes, and tours widely. Sally Van Meter (dobro, vocals) has been a member of the bands of Hillman & Pedersen, Led Kaapana, and Jorma Kaukonen, and performed/recorded with everyone from Jerry Garcia to Mary Chapin-Carpenter to the Nashville Bluegrass Band to Leftover Salmon. After playing for many years with Lost Highway, Paul Shelasky (fiddle, vocals) is currently a member of two outstanding SF Bay Area bands (Blue & Lonesome and The David Thom Band), and about to release his second album of fiddle tunes. 'This is as good a recording to emerge from the bluegrass market as you're gonna hear!" - Option Magazine review of Anywhere the Wind Blows Good Ol' Persons discography: Good N' Live (Sugar Hill/1995) The Bluegrass Suspects (Kaleidoscope/1990 - out of print) *Anywhere the Wind Blows (Flat Rock/1989) *Part Of A Story (Flat Rock/1986) *I Can't Stand To Ramble (Flat Rock/1983) *Good Ol' Persons (Bay/1977) *Available on CD Baby.


アーティスト: Good Ol' Persons
タイトル: Anywhere the Wind Blows
ジャンル: Country
発売日: 2014/12/01
レーベル: CD Baby
フォーマット: CD
バーコード: 712333010624